Récapitulatif

SERVICES

La plateforme iCONICS donne accès à des solutions logicielles et à une expertise méthodologique pour une variété de processus de gestion et d'analyse de données biomédicales.

GESTION DE DONNÉES

Nous offrons un support pour la gestion des données des données biomédicales. Cela comprend la définition et la mise en œuvre de bonnes pratiques dans les processus de curation, de normalisation, d'annotation et de structuration des données spécifiques au domaine. L'objectif est d'atteindre des normes de qualité élevées en matière de cohérence, de fiabilité, de valeur et d'interopérabilité des données.

À cette fin, nous mettons en œuvre une communauté dédiée et des solutions ouvertes pour capturer des données au format numérique, telles que:

  • REDCap pour l'eCRF clinique (avec la définition d'un dictionnaire unifié de variables pour les études cliniques);
  • XNAT pour les données de neuroimagerie;
  • OMERO pour les données d'imagerie cellulaire;
  • Tumorotek pour les collections de ressources biologiques.

Des formations et un support sont organisés pour accompagner l'utilisation de ces solutions logicielles.

Nous proposons également une assistance pour définir Plans de gestion des données (basé sur les principes de données FAIR de l'Union européenne: trouvables, accessibles, interopérables et réutilisables, en savoir plus ici), qui sont désormais obligatoires pour la plupart des agences de financement de la recherche.

ANALYSE DES DONNÉES GÉNOMIQUES

Nous développons et fournissons des pipelines et des interfaces bioinformatiques afin de traiter et de visualiser une gamme de données génétiques, génomiques et épigénomiques; ces outils sont exploités par des collaborateurs ou par des utilisateurs finaux, qui bénéficient également de l'assistance d'experts de la plateforme pour analyser et interpréter leurs données.

Le panel d'applications biologiques prises en charge, principalement dérivées de l'acquisition de séquençage à haut débit (NGS), comprend:

  • Panel de gènes, séquençage de l'exome entier et séquençage du génome entier (SNP, CNV, variantes rares);
  • ARN-seq (expression génique différentielle, variantes d'épissage, ARN long non codant, microARN, unicellulaire);
  • Bisulfite-seq (profil de méthylation);
  • ATAC-seq (accessibilité de la chromatine);
  • ChIP-seq (liaison aux protéines).

Quelques analyses de tableaux sont également proposées (GWAS, transcriptomique, méthylation).

Les pipelines sont construits à l'aide d'une variété d'outils choisis pour assurer l'évolutivité, la reproductibilité et la portabilité (gestionnaire de flux de travail snakemake, gestionnaire de packages Conda, gestionnaire de conteneurs Docker). Les applications graphiques Shiny / R offrent aux utilisateurs des moyens efficaces d'explorer leurs résultats.

Cette activité est étroitement liée à la production de données de séquençage opérée par le Installation principale d'iGenSeq.

BIOSTATISTIQUE ET INTÉGRATION DES DONNÉES

Un soutien de base dans l'analyse des données statistiques est fourni. Nous accueillons toute demande concernant la mise en œuvre de méthodes statistiques standard (par exemple, test d'hypothèse, ANOVA, modèles mixtes, clustering) ou avancées (par exemple, régression et classification non linéaires, apprentissage des caractéristiques et des représentations), pour évaluer, valider, corréler ou explorer les données biomédicales (généralement, les examens cliniques, l'imagerie cellulaire, l'électrophysiologie, la génomique ou l'acquisition de données métabolomiques).

De plus, nous concevons et appliquons des méthodes spécifiques pour l'analyse intégrative de données multimodales et de haute dimension (p. Ex., Données de génétique / multiomique, données de neuroimagerie, observations cliniques). En particulier, un cadre polyvalent appelé Analyse de corrélation canonique généralisée régularisée (RGCCA), et son homologue épars SGCCA, sont dédiés à l'analyse d'ensembles de données structurés en blocs de variables. En partenariat avec CentraleSupelec, nous développons de nouveaux composants pour ce package (par exemple, pour mieux gérer les valeurs manquantes) et implémentons des interfaces graphiques pour faire fonctionner les méthodes et visualiser les résultats.

FORMATION

Nous proposons des formations dans différents domaines liés à nos domaines d'expertise, tels que:

  • Préparez votre plan de gestion des données
  • Collecte et gestion des données de recherche clinique avec REDCap
  • OMERO pour la gestion des données microscopiques
  • Statistiques pour l'analyse d'images de cellules
  • Introduction à R pour la génomique
  • Statistiques et R (différentes saveurs)

Une formation individuelle peut également être dispensée «à la demande».

Summary

SERVICES

The iCONICS platform provides access to software solutions and methodological expertise for a variety of biomedical data management and analysis processes.

DATA MANAGEMENT

We offer support for the data management of biomedical data. This includes the definition and implementation of good practices in the processes of curation, standardization, annotation and structuration of field-specific data. The goal is to reach high-quality standards in data consistency, reliability, value, and interoperability.

To this end, we implement dedicated community and open solutions to capture data in a digital format, such as:

  • REDCap for clinical eCRF (with the definition of a unified variable dictionary for clinical studies);
  • XNAT for neuroimaging data;
  • OMERO for cell imaging data;
  • Tumorotek for biological resource collections.

Training and support are organized to support the usage of these software solutions.

We also offer assistance in defining Data Management Plans (based on the European Union FAIR data principles: Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, and Reusable, learn more here), which are now mandatory for most research funding agencies.

DATABASE AND SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT

We develop software tools that fulfill two main objectives:

  • Organize data in a consistent, reliable and secured way;
  • Provide end-users with graphical tools to manage, query, browse and visualize their data.

As an example, we are working on a novel software to efficiently handle pseudonymization and identifiers of subjects participating in clinical trials at the Institute (across various platforms), and we contributed to improve the database and application used for managing the OncoNeuroTek resource. We also improve the community tools listed above by integrating new functionalities or plug-ins.

In addition, graphical tools are developed and deployed to help in the operation of methods and in the interpretation of complex data, in coordination with the analytical components of the platform activities. For instance, we provide access to Shiny/R applications intended to filter and query gene variant data, explore transcriptomics data or launch integrative analyses of multimodal data.

The Paris Brain Institute also provides access to the Ingenuity Pathway Analysis software.

GENOMICS DATA ANALYSIS

We develop and provide bioinformatics pipelines and interfaces in order to process and visualize a range of genetics, genomics and epigenomics data; these tools are operated by staff members or by end-users, who also benefit from expert assistance from the platform to analyze and interpret their data.

The panel of supported biological applications, mainly derived from high-throughput sequencing acquisition (NGS), includes:

  • Gene panel, whole-exome sequencing and whole-genome sequencing (SNPs, CNVs, rare variants);
  • RNA-seq (differential gene expression, splicing variants, long non-coding RNA, microRNA, single-cell);
  • Bisulfite-seq (methylation profile);
  • ATAC-seq (chromatin accessibility);
  • ChIP-seq (protein binding).

A few array analyses are also proposed (GWAS, transcriptomics, methylation).

Pipelines are built using a variety of tools chosen to ensure scalability, reproducibility and portability (workflow manager snakemake, package manager Conda, container manager Docker). Graphical Shiny/R applications provide users with efficient means to explore their results.

This activity is tightly linked with the sequencing data production operated by the iGenSeq core facility.

BIOSTATISTICS AND DATA INTEGRATION

Basic support in statistical data analysis is provided. We welcome any request dealing with the implementation of standard (e.g., hypothesis testing, ANOVA, mixed-models, clustering) or advanced (e.g., non-linear regression and classification, feature and representation learning) statistical methods, to assess, validate, correlate or explore biomedical data (typically, clinical examinations, cell imaging, electrophysiology, genomics or metabolomics data acquisitions).

In addition, we design and apply specific methods for the integrative analysis of multimodal and high-dimensional data (e.g., genetics/multiomics data, neuroimaging data, clinical observations). In particular, a versatile framework called Regularized Generalized Canonical Correlation Analysis (RGCCA), and its sparse counterpart SGCCA, are dedicated to the analysis of data sets structured in blocks of variables. In partnership with CentraleSupelec, we develop new components for this package (e.g., for better handling missing values) and implement graphical interfaces to operate the methods and visualize the results.

TRAINING

We offer training classes in various areas related to our domains of expertise, such as:

  • Prepare your Data Management Plan
  • Clinical research data collection and management with REDCap
  • OMERO for microscopic data management
  • Statistics for cell image analysis
  • Introduction to R for genomics
  • Statistics and R (various flavors)

Individual training may also be provided “on demand”.